Skip to content
Frontier Desk

Finance a GPU cluster.

Lenders finance GPU clusters the way they finance any equipment with a customer behind it: they read the contract, the customer, your cash in the deal, and the quotes. Answer what you have. We show how a lender will read the project, which kinds of financing fit it, what they will ask for next, and who lends on projects like it.

Example answers: a two-year-old GPU operator buying about $20M of servers for a large customer on a signed three-year contract. Change any answer.

Step 1 of 5

The project

What you are buying, where it will run, and when you need the money.

Cost of the servers and networking
A purchase quote for the hardware
Where the cluster will run
When you need the money

Example answers · updates as you answer

Ready for term sheets

A lender would read this as a financeable project. Approach several in the same week.

85 / 100

How the score is built
Customer contract × 0.22
100
Customer’s ability to pay × 0.18
80
Contract length × 0.10
100
Your cash in the deal × 0.20
75
Track record × 0.10
65
Financial statements × 0.05
50
Hardware and data-center quotes × 0.10
100
Operating cash × 0.05
100

What a lender will ask for next

  • Financial statements, audited if you can. Equipment lessors often ask for two years in business and audited accounts.

Financing that fits

  1. 1A term loan against the cluster and the contract95

    The lender advances part of the cost, secured by the servers, the contract and what it pays, and is repaid over the contract’s term.

    • +25Signed customer contract
    • +530 to 50 percent of the cost in cash
    • +5A large, well-funded customer
  2. 2A fixed-terms program for smaller clusters90

    Some arrangers run programs with their lending partners for orders under about $20M: fixed criteria, standard documents, and a term sheet within days.

    • +20A customer lined up
    • +1530 to 50 percent of the cost in cash
    • +5Hardware quote in hand
    • +5Data-center quote in hand
  3. 3An operating lease70

    A lessor buys the servers and rents them to you. It asks for less cash up front than a loan; at the end you return them, extend, or buy them at market value.

    • +530 to 50 percent of the cost in cash
    • −5Lessors look for two years or more in business
    • +10Signed customer contract
    • +5A long contract: you may prefer to hand back older hardware
All 8 kinds of financing
  1. 4A bridge to installation65

    A lender pays for the hardware order for 90 to 120 days, until the main lender takes over once the cluster is installed and the customer is paying.

    • +25Signed customer contract
    • +10Hardware quote in hand
  2. 5Mezzanine debt in place of some of your cash55

    A second lender funds part of what would be your cash in the deal, at a higher rate and sometimes for warrants. Convertible notes and warrants are securities, placed only through a registered broker-dealer.

    • +10Fills a gap in your cash
    • +15Signed customer contract
  3. 6Onchain credit against the GPUs55

    Crypto-native lenders fund GPU purchases against the hardware and its revenue, often for operators earlier than banks will see.

    • +10Signed customer contract
  4. 7Digital-infrastructure debt25

    The funds and banks that finance towers and data centers lend on large projects with strong customers and operators with a record.

    • −25Smaller than these lenders take
    • +10A large, well-funded customer
    • +15Signed customer contract
  5. 8Asset-backed securities20

    At large scale, contracts and hardware are pooled into rated notes sold to investors. The notes are securities, placed only through a registered broker-dealer.

    • +15Signed customer contract

Who lends on projects like this

32 more
  • Tech Finance Co. (TFC), Kingsbridge Holdings / SLR Investment Corp. platformEquipment lessor

    Lent to QumulusAI; last deal May 2026

  • Data SalesEquipment lessor

    Lent to Ori Industries; last deal Apr 2026

  • Forum Markets (Nasdaq: FRMM)Bridge lender

    Last deal Apr 2026, borrower not disclosed

  • USD.AIOnchain lender

  • JPMorgan ChaseBank · usually larger deals

    Lent to Lambda, Hut 8, CoreWeave and 1 more; last deal Oct 2026

  • Goldman SachsBank · usually larger deals

    Lent to Hut 8, Nscale, Applied Digital and 1 more; last deal Sep 2026

  • Morgan StanleyBank · usually larger deals

    Lent to Hut 8, Lambda, CoreWeave and 2 more; last deal Sep 2026

  • MUFGBank · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave, Lambda, Nscale; last deal Aug 2026

  • Blue OwlPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to IREN; last deal Aug 2026

  • Citizens BankBank · usually larger deals

    Lent to Lambda; last deal Aug 2026

  • Crédit AgricoleBank · usually larger deals

    Lent to Lambda; last deal Aug 2026

  • Wells FargoBank · usually larger deals

    Lent to Lambda; last deal Aug 2026

  • Macquarie GroupBank · usually larger deals

    Lent to Nscale, Applied Digital, Lambda; last deal Jul 2026

  • ApolloPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to Valor Compute Infrastructure (xAI); last deal Jan 2026

  • Victory Park CapitalPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to Crusoe; last deal Aug 2025

  • BrookfieldPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to Crusoe; last deal Jun 2025

  • Future StandardPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to Crusoe; last deal Mar 2025

  • King Street Capital ManagementPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to Crusoe; last deal Mar 2025

  • Liberty Mutual InvestmentsPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to Crusoe; last deal Mar 2025

  • ORIX USAPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to Crusoe; last deal Mar 2025

  • Upper90Private credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to Crusoe; last deal Mar 2025

  • MagnetarPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave; last deal May 2024

  • BlackRockPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave; last deal May 2024

  • BlackstonePrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave; last deal May 2024

  • CarlylePrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave; last deal May 2024

  • CDPQPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave; last deal May 2024

  • CoatuePrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave; last deal May 2024

  • Eldridge IndustriesPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave; last deal May 2024

  • Great Elm CapitalPrivate credit · usually larger deals

    Lent to CoreWeave; last deal May 2024

  • Wingspire Equipment FinanceEquipment lessor · usually larger deals

    Last deal Aug 2026, borrower not disclosed

  • Dell Financial ServicesEquipment lessor · usually larger deals

    Lent to Nscale; last deal Apr 2026

  • Sentry FinancialEquipment lessor · usually larger deals

    Last deal Jan 2025, borrower not disclosed

Terms lenders typically quote
  • Rate: about 10 to 12 percent a year with a strong corporate customer
  • Advance: 50 to 80 percent of the equipment cost
  • Term: the contract’s length, though lenders rarely go past three years
  • Covenant: cash flow of 1.15 to 1.25 times the loan payments
  • Reserve: about 3 months of payments held back at closing
  • Arrangement fee: 1 to 3 percent of the loan, paid to the lender

Ranges lenders typically quote, as published in GPU Financing 101 (American Compute, June 2026). Every lender sets its own terms.

How lenders read a GPU project

A lender financing a cluster is lending against two things: hardware that loses value quickly, and a customer who has promised to pay for it. So the contract comes first. Rental rates move with the market and no lender can underwrite them; a multi-year take-or-pay commitment from a customer with a balance sheet is something it can.

Your own cash comes next. Lenders want you to carry part of the risk and to pay your own salaries and rent, so they look for 30 to 50 percent of the cost from you, investors, or the customer’s deposit, and six months of operating costs in the bank. Operators on their first projects should expect to bring about half.

Read the rest

Then the quotes make the cost real: a purchase quote from the maker or a reseller with the full bill of materials, and a colocation quote from a Tier III data center. With the contract, the cash and the quotes in hand, run lenders in a short burst rather than one at a time, and turn the customer’s letter into a signed contract once you hold a term sheet.

If cash is short, an operating lease asks for less up front, and mezzanine debt can stand in for part of your share. If the senior lender will only fund once the cluster is installed, a bridge covers the order. And above a few hundred million dollars, infrastructure lenders and asset-backed notes open up for operators with a record.

What lenders look for follows GPU Financing 101, a guide published by American Compute.

Who lends against compute

We map the lenders, lessors and onchain credit markets that finance GPUs and data centers, with the deals behind each one, alongside the companies that buy the capacity.

See the compute market